Cart Search
submit Remember my login

2021 SPE Annual Conference: Imagining Legacy: Archives, Collections, and Memoria

Looking for a chapter event?

Past SPE Annual Conferences

Photo squares

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is comprised of the Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary, and each member is elected by the board for a two-year term. This committee oversees the activities of all SPE committees and acts on behalf of the board when it is not in session. The Chair works closely with the Executive Director and directs the activities of all board committees. The Vice Chair advises the board in setting goals for the society, supervises long-term planning, and chairs the Steering Committee, which reviews current policies and programs in light of the society's changing needs. The Treasurer of SPE works on fundraising. The Secretary is responsible for taking the minutes of the board meetings. Members of the Executive Committee convene three times each year in March, August, and January.

Liz Allen, Chair
Lauren Greenwald, Vice Chair
Rebecca Nolan, Secretary
Ariel Shanberg, Treasurer

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee is responsible for the annual fall elections of the Board of Directors, including soliciting names of potential candidates from the membership and formulating a provisional slate.

Kelli Connell, Chair
Micah Cash
John Freyer
Lauren Greenwald
Andrew Hershberger

Audit Committee

SPE's Audit Committee provides an oversight role. The Audit Committee may coordinate, monitor, and work closely with SPE's staff to prepare the organization for an independent audit. The Audit Committee also may participate in the decision to hire the auditor and should be responsible for evaluating the audit process and recommending whether or not to reengage the audit firm for subsequent audits. The Audit Committee is also the body that presents the auditors' findings to the Board of Directors, making sure that the full board understands any recommendations made by the auditors before formally accepting the audit report. Finally, the audit committee recommends changes in practices or reporting in order to adhere to general accounting principles and maintain industry "best practices."

Lauren Greenwald, Chair
Mark Malloy
Libby Rowe

Awards and Recognition Committee

The Awards and Recognition Committee, in cooperation with the Executive Committee, Board and SPE office, administers the Society's awards process including student scholarships and other membership awards of the Society. The committee is charged with initiating projects, which are intended to generate funds for scholarships. The Awards and Recognition Committee may also initiate projects designed to showcase the talents of awards applicants and recipients.

Tomiko Jones, Chair
Mark Malloy
Rebecca Nolan
Millee Tibbs

Finance Committee (A Committee of the Corporation)

Ariel Shanberg, Chair
Micah Cash
Deborah Hollis

Development Committee (A Committee of the Corporation)

The Development Committee provides leadership and support in strategic development of philanthropic giving including annual fund, major gifts, membership and individual giving, grants and restricted giving, event-based fundraising, corporate and foundation relations, and sponsorships.

Liz Allen, Chair
Micah Cash
Nina Barcellona Kidd
Mark Malloy
Millee Tibbs

Communications Committee (A Committee of the Corporation)

The Communications Committee oversees the marketing and communications planning, provides input on SPE publications, sets direction for the website, recommends articles and projects for publication.

Scott Hilton, Chair
Andrew Hershberger
Deborah Hollis
Jennifer Shea
Colin Edgington, Ex-Officio

Conference Committee (A Committee of the Corporation)

The Conference Committee oversees the planning and implementation of the annual conference programming.

Rebecca Nolan, Chair
Tomiko Jones
Anne Massoni
Rafael Soldi

Affiliated Chapters Committee (A Committee of the Corporation)

The Affiliated Chapters Committee includes the eight chapter chairpersons. It serves as liaison to the chapters, and recommends policies and procedures relating to chapter matters.

Libby Rowe, Chair
Ginenne Clark
Scott Hilton
Ariel Shanberg
Millee Tibbs

Combined Caucus Committee (A Committee of the Corporation)

The Combined Caucus Committee includes caucus chairpersons. It serves as a liaison to the caucuses, and recommends policies and procedures relating to caucus matters.

Kelli Connell, Chair | LGBTQ Caucus Liaison
Deborah Hollis | Women's Caucus Liaison
Tomiko Jones | Multicultural Caucus Liaison
John Freyer| High School Educators Caucus Liaison
Mark Malloy | Contingent Faculty Caucus Liaison

Email Sign Up

SPE email updates contain resources, news, and more!

About this piece

Comments about this piece

Dialogue and critique are important to the SPE mission.
Please join the conversation.

Exit Full Screen Mode