Cart Search
submit Remember my login

2019 SPE Annual Conference: The Myths of Photography and the American Dream / Major support by The Joy Family Legacy Foundation

Looking for a chapter event?

Past SPE Annual Conferences


submit news

Posted January 06, 2015 in Member News

SPE 2015 National Conference Award Winners

2015 SPE Honored Educator
Congratulations to Mary Virginia Swanson, SPE's 2015 Honored Educator! Swanson has given her boundless energy to SPE events and programming over the years and it is a pleasure to honor her contributions with SPE's Honored Educator Award. We recognize her relentless advocating for professional development in the field of photography and providing mentorship and inspiration to countless individuals, including her annual student seminar presentation (with co-presenter Susan kae Grant) at SPE national conferences since 2002. The Honored Educator Award bestows the recipient with a lifetime membership in the Society. The Honored Educator Award ceremony will take place during the national conference on Friday, March 13, at 5:30 pm.

2015 SPE Imagemaker Award
This award, funded through SPE's Awards & Recognition Fund, is given to a first-time presenter at an SPE national conference with an outstanding proposal in the "Imagemaker" category. The award consists of a $1,000 cash prize, a complimentary year of SPE membership, and a national conference few waiver. Thanks to a new partnership with PLAYA (a residency program in south central Oregon), SPE's Imagemaker Award recipient will also be given the opportunity to do a one-month residency at PLAYA within the calendar year following receipt of the award. Congratulations to Adam Ekberg, SPE's 2015 Imagemaker Award winner.

2015 Student Awards for Innovations in Imaging
Congratulations to the 2015 SPE Student Awards for Innovations in Imaging recipients! Ten SPE Student Awards for Innovations in Imaging will be given at the 2015 SPE National Conference in New Orleans. All awards include a $550 travel stipend to attend the conference, a conference fee waiver, and a complimentary year of SPE membership. As a way to highlight the work of the award recipients, there will be a special section set up at the Curator Portfolio Walkthrough at the conference on Friday, March 13, from 8:30 - 11:00 pm in Elite Hall A, where scholarship winners will be provided with their own table to showcase their portfolios and interact with conference attendees and guest curators.

Jurors of the 2015 SPE Student Awards for Innovations in Imaging
Amy Holmes George (Chair of the Awards and Recognitions Committee), Claude Baillargeon, Bill Gaskins, and Rebecca Nolan

2015 SPE Student Awards for Innovations in Imaging Recipients
Elle Olivia Andersen, University of South Carolina, Undergraduate Student
Marcus DeSieno, University of South Florida, Graduate Student
Katie Harwood, San Francisco Art Institute, Graduate Student
Soohyun Kim, University of Illinois at Chicago, Graduate Student
Elise Kirk, Rhode Island School of Design, Graduate Student
Amanda Mollindo, Arizona State University, Undergraduate Student
Zora Murff, University of Iowa, Undergraduate Student
Ohm Phanphiroj, Memphis College of Art, Graduate Student
Thomas Sanders, San Jose State University, Graduate Student
Janelle Young, University of Georgia, Graduate Student

2015 SPE Insight Award
The SPE Insight Award recognizes achievements of significant distinction made by individuals in the photographic education field. Measured from when careers first begin to the time when standing ovations erupt spontaneously in lecture halls, SPE's Insight Award symbolizes the realization of a national or international career or the launching of future endeavors to new challenges, ideas, and horizons. Photographers (in the broadest sense of the word today), as well as scholars, curators, writers, and visionaries - be their achievements rapid fire or accumulated over time - are eligible for the Society's mark of recognition and distinction.

Insight Award recipients demonstrate excellence in two or more of the following ways: innovative teaching; sustained mentoring of colleagues or students; broad contribution to technical, critical, pedagogical, or visual aspects of the field; breadth or depth of exhibition or publication; sustained presence in the field.

The 2015 SPE Insight Award will be presented to Andrew E. Hershberger, Stephen Marc, Osamu James Nakagawa, and Mary Virginia Swanson as part of the awards ceremony at the 2015 SPE National Conference on Friday, March 13, at 5:30 pm.

SPE Future Focus Project Support Grant
We are pleased to announce Nancy Floyd as a recipient of the SPE Future Focus Project Grant. The $5000 grant, funded in part by SPE's Future Focus Campaign, supports the creation and development of specific work proposed to and chosen by a review committee, and as such, directly supports the creative and professional development of participating members. It also serves to benefit SPE in that the work comes back to the Society and is shared as part of future conference programming, providing new and relevant material specifically supported and encouraged by the organization. The Future Focus Project Grant recipient will be recognized at the 2015 SPE National Conference during the plenary session on Thursday, March 12, at 7:00 pm. The results of the funded project will be presented at the 2016 SPE National Conference.

SPE International Conference Grant
SPE's International Conference Grant was established in 2014 (for implementation in 2015) as an incentive to foster international submissions and participation in SPE's national conferences. The grant is awarded to the three highest-ranked international conference proposal submissions, regardless of presentation category, if selected by the conference committee to present at the conference. Up to six individuals may benefit from this grant program each year. The conference grant awards a full conference registration fee waiver and a complimentary year of SPE membership to each recipient. Congratulations to Takashi Arai, Sunil Gupta, and Anne Noble - the first recipients of this award!

Related Members: Marcus DeSienoNancy FloydAndrew Hershberger, Ph.D.Stephen MarcZora MurffOsamu NakagawaMary Virginia SwansonJanelle Young

Email Sign Up

SPE email updates contain resources, news, and more!

About this piece

Comments about this piece

Dialogue and critique are important to the SPE mission.
Please join the conversation.

Exit Full Screen Mode